The England Chronicles

Last year, a dear friend of mine’s birthday was coming up.  I panicked.  I had planned on sketching her something, but her birthday was only a few weeks away and I hadn’t made even one pencil stroke.  Then one day (I think I was doing dishes at the time) I got an idea.  I could write her something – something I had been wanting to write for a long time.

For years I’ve imagined what life must have been like for the Pevensie kids (Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, from the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe) to go back to England after being Kings and Queens in Narnia.  (Yes, I know that the movie Prince Caspian dealt with this idea, but I think that they got it really wrong…)  How would it feel to be sitting in a boring school lecture and be thinking back on battles you led, or balls you had thrown?  I’ve always loved thinking about their England lives, and imagining scenes and scenarios they must have had.  It took my friend’s birthday to turn daydreaming into an actual story.

It’s not brilliant.  It’s not a masterpiece.  But it’s fun, and I had a ridiculously good time writing it.  My friend who received the story for her birthday loved it (as did other fellow Narniacs), and I hope you do too.  Feel free to download it, share it, print it out – I don’t have the copyright for it and never will.  It’s just the imaginations of a Narnia-lover put into print.  🙂

I give you the England Chronicles.

The England Chronicles by Victoria Stringer

5 thoughts on “The England Chronicles

    • Thanks Uncle Larry! I’m glad you like the sketch – it’s one of my favorites. I can’t ever look at it hanging on my wall without thinking of Edmund’s redemption and how it mirrors my own salvation. And I hope you like the story! 🙂 Like I said, I had lots of fun writing it!

  1. Beautiful sketch, and I too am looking forward to reading your story. In truth, you still own the “copyright” to anything you produce, but you’re completely within your rights to allow the free reading and dissemination of the work.

    • Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy the story – like I said, it’s nothing brilliant, but I thought that fellow Narnia fans might like it. Come to think of it, you’re absolutely right about me owning the copyright…but still, it’s one that I’m perfectly happy sharing with others! 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting, and reading my blog!

      ~~ Victoria

  2. You drew that? That’s awesome! I could have sworn that was something Disney put out for the movie. *Sigh* My sister’s an artist too, but I, unfortunately, never graduated above stick figures. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you thought about my post!